Shannara Reading Order

shannara reading order banner art

What’s on the Shannara Reading Order?

This Shannara reading order comes from the series of books written by Terry Brooks. The Shannara Chronicles is a television series, developed by MTV, based on the book series. The show starts with Elfstones of Shannara. This timeline lists all of the Shannara books and tie-in series. These include the Word/Void series. It also includes the show, even though the show does not perfectly follow the books.

The Shannara series has a lot of separate stories, often appearing in trilogies. While Terry Brooks has continued to write books in chronological order over the years, he has occasionally gone back and written prequel novels. He even created a graphic novel as part of the timeline. Now that MTV has adapted the series, more people have interest in reading the books. So enjoy this timeline which should hopefully help you catch up on the lore of the epic Shannara timeline.

Where to Start Reading Shannara?

While not the chronological beginning, you should probably start with the trilogy that began the epic series. These books are The Sword of Shannara, Elfstones of Shannara (which is where the MTV show starts), and Wishsong of Shannara. After that, it doesn’t matter if you go back to read the prequels, or if you continue with the sequels. That said, the Word/Void trilogy stands alone, and exists much earlier than the main Shannara storyline. So that’s another good place to start, especially since it begins the chronology.

1Word/VoidImaginary FriendsShort StoryTerry Brooks1991Written as a prototype of the Word/Void trilogy.
2Word/VoidBuyRunning with the DemonNovelTerry Brooks1997
3Word/VoidBuyA Knight of the WordNovelTerry Brooks1998
4Word/VoidBuyAngel Fire EastNovelTerry Brooks1999
5Genesis of ShannaraBuyArmageddon's ChildrenNovelTerry Brooks2006
6Genesis of ShannaraBuyThe Elves of CintraNovelTerry Brooks2007
7Genesis of ShannaraBuyThe Gypsy MorphNovelTerry Brooks2008
8Legends of ShannaraBuyBearers of the Black StaffNovelTerry Brooks2010
9Legends of ShannaraBuyThe Measure of the MagicNovelTerry Brooks2011
10Shannara PrequelBuyFirst King of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1996
11Paladins of ShannaraBuyAllanon's QuestShort StoryTerry Brooks2012Collected in Paladins of Shannara
12TrilogyBuyThe Sword of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1977
13Paladins of ShannaraBuyThe Black IrixShort StoryTerry Brooks2013Collected in Paladins of Shannara
14TrilogyBuyThe Elfstones of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1982
15Shannara ChroniclesBuyThe Shannara Chronicles (Season 1)TelevisionAlfred Gough, Miles Millar2016Loose adaptation of Elfstones of Shannara
16Paladins of ShannaraBuyThe Weapon Master's ChoiceShort StoryTerry Brooks2013Collected in Paladins of Shannara
17TrilogyBuyThe Wishsong of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1985
18OtherBuyIndomitableShort StoryTerry Brooks2003Collected in Legends II
19OtherBuyThe Dark Wraith of ShannaraComicTerry Brooks2008
20Heritage of ShannaraBuyThe Scions of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1990
21Heritage of ShannaraBuyThe Druid of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1991
22Heritage of ShannaraBuyThe Elf Queen of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1992
23Heritage of ShannaraBuyThe Talismans of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1993
24Voyage of the Jerle ShannaraBuyIlse WitchNovelTerry Brooks2000
25Voyage of the Jerle ShannaraBuyAntraxNovelTerry Brooks2001
26Voyage of the Jerle ShannaraBuyMorgawrNovelTerry Brooks2002
27High Druid of ShannaraBuyJarka RuusNovelTerry Brooks2003
28High Druid of ShannaraBuyTanequilNovelTerry Brooks2004
29High Druid of ShannaraBuyStrakenNovelTerry Brooks2005
30Dark Legacy of ShannaraBuyWards of FaerieNovelTerry Brooks2012
31Dark Legacy of ShannaraBuyBloodfire QuestNovelTerry Brooks2013
32Dark Legacy of ShannaraBuyWitch WraithNovelTerry Brooks2013
33Defenders of ShannaraBuyThe High Druid's BladeNovelTerry Brooks2014
34Defenders of ShannaraBuyThe Darkling ChildNovelTerry Brooks2015
35Defenders of ShannaraBuyThe Sorcerer's DaughterNovelTerry Brooks2016

Get our monthly newsletter and be notified of new timelines and posts!

* indicates required