banner art for black company reading order

What’s on the Black Company Reading Order?

This is the unofficial Black Company reading order, featuring the books by Glen Cook. As always, we arrange them in internal chronological order. The series also includes a number of short stories. However, because I have not read these short stories, they are not (yet) included on this timeline. Additionally, I can’t find a solid source to tell me where they take place. So we’re stuck for now until more information arises. However, you can help with this! Like our other timelines, if you know additional details on the chronology of this timeline, let us know and we’ll add it to the list.

And if you enjoyed this timeline, you might enjoy some of our others. For example, we recommend checking out the Malazan timeline for another epic fantasy like this one. In addition, you can contact us on our contact page with any input you’d like to add. Just let know how we can improve!  Thank you, and we hope you enjoy this Black Company reading order.

Where to start reading the Black Company series?

This is one instance where the answer to this question is simple. Start at the beginning. The chronological and release date order for these books coincide.

1Books of the NorthBuyThe Black CompanyNovelGlen Cook1984
2Books of the NorthBuyShadows LingerNovelGlen Cook1984
3Books of the NorthBuyThe White RoseNovelGlen Cook1985
4Spin-offBuyThe Silver SpikeNovelGlen Cook1989
5Books of the SouthBuyShadow GamesNovelGlen Cook1989
6Books of the SouthBuyDreams of SteelNovelGlen Cook1990
7Books of the Glittering StoneBuyBleak SeasonsNovelGlen Cook1996
8Books of the Glittering StoneBuyShe Is the DarknessNovelGlen Cook1997
9Books of the Glittering StoneBuyWater SleepsNovelGlen Cook1999
10Books of the Glittering StoneBuySoldiers LiveNovelGlen Cook2000