Art for the Bourne timeline, featuring Matt Damon as Jason Bourne.

What’s on the Bourne Series Timeline?

This is the Bourne series timeline for all of the Bourne books and films. This timeline includes the following media:

  • The Original Books: The original three books written by Robert Ludlum which formed the basis of the Bourne story.
  • New Books: In 2004 (likely in response to the popularity of the film franchise), Eric Van Lustbader wrote¬†Bourne Legacy which kicked off an ongoing series of new books set in the Bourne universe.
  • The Films: The Bourne films adapted the first four books, then went in a new direction. They are included here for now, though may become their own timeline in the future.

Even though the film adaptations are considerably different than the books, I’ve included them after the novels in this timeline, as I find watching the adaptation of the book to be very informative on the creative process. Enjoy this Bourne reading/viewing order.

1Original EraBuyBourne IdentityNovelRobert Ludlum1980
2Original EraBuyBourne IdentityFilmDoug Liman2002Film adaptations differ somewhat from the books.
3Original EraBuyBourne SupremacyNovelRobert Ludlum1986
4Original EraBuyBourne SupremacyFilmPaul Greengrass2004
5Original EraBuyBourne UltimatumNovelRobert Ludlum1990
6Original EraBuyBourne UltimatumFilmPaul Greengrass2007
7New EraBuyBourne LegacyNovelEric Van Lustbader2004
8New EraBuyBourne LegacyFilmTony Gilroy2012
9New EraBuyJason BourneFilmPaul Greengrass2016Original film, not adapting the novels.
10New EraBuyBourne BetrayalNovelEric Van Lustbader2007
11New EraBuyBourne SanctionNovelEric Van Lustbader2008
12New EraBuyBourne DeceptionNovelEric Van Lustbader2009
13New EraBuyBourne ObjectiveNovelEric Van Lustbader2010
14New EraBuyBourne DominionNovelEric Van Lustbader2011
15New EraBuyBourne ImperativeNovelEric Van Lustbader2012
16New EraBuyBourne RetributionNovelEric Van Lustbader2013
17New EraBuyBourne AscendancyNovelEric Van Lustbader2014
18New EraBuyBourne EnigmaNovelEric Van Lustbader2016