Art for the Dark is Rising series reading order, by Susan Cooper.

What’s on The Dark is Rising Reading Order?

The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper only consists of 5 books, but they are some of the best fantasy books ever written for younger readers. I highly recommend each and every one of them. They start with Over Sea, Under Stone, though some of the most important characters in the series don’t arrive until later books. However, they all read well in order, so we hope you enjoy this timeline that puts them all together. If you see anything that isn’t right, be sure to let us know. You can do this on our contact page. We love to hear your feedback and we try to respond to every email if we can.

It’s easy to say where to start on this timeline. Start at the beginning. However, The Dark is Rising can be read on its own, even though it’s the second book in the series. Additionally, if you liked this timeline, be sure to check out some of our others, such as our Dagger and Coin timeline. Or just start browsing! We’re sure you will find something that you like somewhere on the site.

1Dark is RisingBuyOver Sea, Under StoneNovelSusan Cooper1965
2Dark is RisingBuyThe Dark is RisingNovelSusan Cooper1973
3Dark is RisingBuyGreenwitchNovelSusan Cooper1974
4Dark is RisingBuyThe Grey KingNovelSusan Cooper1975
5Dark is RisingBuySilver on the TreeNovelSusan Cooper1977