Doom Timeline and Chronology

What’s on the Doom Timeline?

The Doom franchise is tricky to piece together, because some of the tie-in material takes significant artistic liberty. The chronology is uncertain as a result, but this is the chronological timeline as best we can make it. The novels may or may not tie-in well with the games, and the games themselves follow a limited chronology. The franchise was also rebooted with Doom (previously Doom 4) in 2016. This could launch a new continuity for the franchise.

Doom is primarily a series of first-person-shooter games that take place on Mars, where someone has discovered a portal to hell. The result is an uproar of horror action. As with our other timelines, be sure to let us know if we missed something.

1Original SeriesBuyDoomGameid Software1993
2OtherBuyDoomFilmAndrzej Bartkowiak2005Only loosely based on the game.
3Original SeriesBuyDoom II: Hell on EarthGameid Software1995
4OtherBuyKnee-Deep in the DeadNovelDafydd ab Hugh, Brad Linaweaver1995
5OtherBuyHell on EarthNovelDafydd ab Hugh, Brad Linaweaver1995
6OtherBuyInfernal SkyNovelDafydd ab Hugh, Brad Linaweaver1995
7OtherBuyEndgameNovelDafydd ab Hugh, Brad Linaweaver1996
8Original SeriesBuyFinal DoomGameid Software1996
9Original SeriesBuyDoom 64Gameid Software1997
10Original SeriesBuyDoom 3Gameid Software2004
11OtherBuyDoom 3: World's on FireNovelMatthew Costello2008
12OtherBuyDoom 3: MaelstromNovelMatthew Costello2009
13Original SeriesDoom RPGGameid Software2005
14Original SeriesBuyDoom ResurrectionGameid Software2009
15Original SeriesDoom II RPGGameid Software2009
16Series RebootBuyDoomGameid Software2016Formerly Doom 4. Reboot of the franchise.

Support For All Timelines:

All Timelines’s lists, reading orders, and guides are made possible by reader support on Patreon.

If you like All Timelines's reading orders/timelines and want exclusive reader rewards, your support on Patreon would be tremendously appreciated! Rewards include:

  • Patreon-only updates on what goes on behind the scenes and what's up and coming.
  • Priority reading order requests
  • Regular Q&A
  • A direct hand in growing All Timelines!
  • Promotions of your site, blog, or YouTube channel!
  • And more!

Any size contribution will help keep All Timelines alive and full of new geek culture guides and content. Support All Timelines on Patreon for exclusive rewards. Thank you for reading!