far cry timeline banner

What’s on the Far Cry Timeline?

This timeline only includes the Far Cry games, and the few other pieces of media that are part of the Far Cry story. So far, that makes for a small timeline. However, there is a theory that the Far Cry games are part of a larger universe. Check out the Ubisoft Universe timeline for more on that. The story of Far Cry varies from game to game, though almost all of them are open-world games. There have been some spin-offs, but some have been repacked and repurposed. We include those collections on this timeline.

Where to Start?

The Far Cry games all stand alone, so there’s no designated place to start. You can start at the very beginning with the original Far Cry, or you can start at the chronological beginning with Far Cry Primal. Far Cry 4 is also a good place to start, since it’s the first game on current-gen consoles.

As always, if you liked this timeline, be sure to check out some of our others. And if you see something here that needs adding, deleting, or changing, be sure to let us know.

The Far Cry 2.0 Timeline

110,000 BCEBuyFar Cry Primal2016-02-23gamekevin-shortt
282004BuyFar Cry2004-03-23gamealexis-nolent
292006BuyFar Cry Instincts: Predator2005-09-27game
302007BuyFar Cry 3: Blood Dragon2013-04-30gamelucien-soulban
312008BuyFar Cry 2, , 2008-10-21gamearmand-constantine patrick-redding susan-oconnor
372012BuyFar Cry 3, , 2012-12-04gamejeffrey-yohalem li-kuo lucien-soulban
432014BuyFar Cry 4, , 2014-11-18gameli-kuo lucien-soulban mark-thompson
642018BuyFar Cry: Absolution2018-02-13novelurban-waite
652018BuyFar Cry 52018-02-27gamedrew-holmes
The Far Cry 2.0 Timeline

2 thoughts on “Far Cry Timeline

  1. Isn’t Far Cry 1 set in 2025? And isn’t Far Cry: Instincts Predator set in another timeline because Jack Carver has a different background in both games. Also why is Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon on the list? Isn’t it obvious that it’s set in an alternate timeline? And aren’t there two official tie-in novels for Far Cry 1 and 2. They are called Gottesdämmerung and Blutige Diamanten. Just wanted to say that.

  2. And aren’t there some short clips about Vaas from Far Cry 3 on YT? I just wanted to point that out. I’m sorry 😉

Let us know your thoughts!

Support For All Timelines:

All Timelines’s lists, reading orders, and guides are made possible by reader support on Patreon.

If you like All Timelines's reading orders/timelines and want exclusive reader rewards, your support on Patreon would be tremendously appreciated! Rewards include:

  • Patreon-only updates on what goes on behind the scenes and what's up and coming.
  • Priority reading order requests
  • Regular Q&A
  • A direct hand in growing All Timelines!
  • Promotions of your site, blog, or YouTube channel!
  • And more!

Any size contribution will help keep All Timelines alive and full of new geek culture guides and content. Support All Timelines on Patreon for exclusive rewards. Thank you for reading!