Foundation Reading Order

What’s on the Foundation Reading Order?

The Foundation series started as just a few collections of short stories by Isaac Asimov. He eventually wrote several prequel novels, and connected it to other series that he had written, including the Robot series. After his death, several authors continued that stories in Foundation and filled in the holes, almost as a way to honor the original author.

As with our other timelines, lists, and reading orders, we hope you will let us know if there’s anything out of place or anything that needs to be added. In the mean time, we hope you enjoy this Foundation reading order.

1Robot EraBuyI, RobotNovelIsaac Asimov1950
2Robot EraBuyThe Rest of the RobotsNovelIsaac Asimov1964
3Robot EraBuyThe Complete RobotNovelIsaac Asimov1982Includes I, Robot and The Rest of the Robots
4Robot EraBuyRobot DreamsNovelIsaac Asimov1986
5Robot EraBuyRobot VisionsNovelIsaac Asimov1990
6Robot EraBuyThe Positronic ManNovelIsaac Asimov, Robert Silverberg1992
7Robot EraBuyMother EarthShort StoryIsaac Asimov1948Collected in Isaac Asimov: The Complete Stories, Vol. 1
8Robot EraBuyThe Caves of SteelNovelIsaac Asimov1954
9Robot EraBuyThe Naked SunNovelIsaac Asimov1957
10Robot EraBuyMirror ImageShort StoryIsaac Asimov1972Collected in The Complete Robot
11Robot EraBuyThe Robots of DawnNovelIsaac Asimov1983
12Robot MysteryBuyMirageNovelMark W. Tiedemann2000
13Robot MysteryBuyChimeraNovelMark W. Tiedemann2001
14Robot MysteryBuyAuroraNovelMark W. Tiedemann2002
15Robot MysteryBuyHave Robot, Will TravelNovelAlexander C. Irvine2005
16Robot MysteryBuyRobots and EmpireNovelIsaac Asimov1985
17Caliban TrilogyBuyIsaac Asimov's CalibanNovelRoger MacBride Allen1993
18Caliban TrilogyBuyIsaac Asimov's InfernoNovelRoger MacBride Allen1994
19Caliban TrilogyBuyIsaac Asimov's UtopiaNovelRoger MacBride Allen1996
20EmpireBuyThe Stars, Like DustNovelIsaac Asimov1951
21EmpireBuyThe Currents of SpaceNovelIsaac Asimov1952
22EmpireBuyPebble in the SkyNovelIsaac Asimov1950
23FoundationBuyPrelude to FoundationNovelIsaac Asimov1988
24FoundationBuyForward the FoundationNovelIsaac Asimov1993
25FoundationBuyFoudation's FearNovelGregory Benford1997
26FoundationBuyFoundation and ChaosNovelGreg Bear1998
27FoundationBuyFoundation's TriumphNovelDavid Brin1999
28FoundationBuyFoundationNovelIsaac Asimov1951
29FoundationBuyFoundation and EmpireNovelIsaac Asimov1952
30FoundationBuySecond FoundationNovelIsaac Asimov1953
31FoundationBuyFoundation's EdgeNovelIsaac Asimov1982
32FoundationBuyFoundation and EarthNovelIsaac Asimov1986

Support For All Timelines:

All Timelines’s lists, reading orders, and guides are made possible by reader support on Patreon.

If you like All Timelines's reading orders/timelines and want exclusive reader rewards, your support on Patreon would be tremendously appreciated! Rewards include:

  • Patreon-only updates on what goes on behind the scenes and what's up and coming.
  • Priority reading order requests
  • Regular Q&A
  • A direct hand in growing All Timelines!
  • Promotions of your site, blog, or YouTube channel!
  • And more!

Any size contribution will help keep All Timelines alive and full of new geek culture guides and content. Support All Timelines on Patreon for exclusive rewards. Thank you for reading!