The Old Kingdom Reading Order

What’s on the Old Kingdom Reading Order?

The Old Kingdom reading order includes all of the books written by Garth Nix, including the prequel novels, and the short stories that are part of the series. Currently, Garth Nix is writing more in the series, so we can expect this timeline to expand a bit in the future. So far, the series is pretty short, consisting of only 3 main books in the saga, not counting the prequel, novellas, and short stories.

As with our other timelines, don’t forget to let us know if we got something wrong. Thank you, and we hope you enjoy!

1Old KingdomBuyClariel: The Lost AbhorsenNovelGarth Nix2014
2Old KingdomBuySabrielNovelGarth Nix1995
3Old KingdomBuyLiraelNovelGarth Nix2001
4Old KingdomBuyAbhorsenNovelGarth Nix2003
5Old KingdomBuyThe Creature in the CaseNovellaGarth Nix2005
6Old KingdomBuyAn Extract of the Journal of Idrach the Lesser NecromancerShort StoryGarth Nix2005Collected in Across the Wall
7Old KingdomBuyTo Hold the BridgeNovellaGarth Nix2010Collected in Legends of Australian Fantasy
8Old KingdomOld Kingdom 5NovelGarth NixN/A

Support For All Timelines:

All Timelines’s lists, reading orders, and guides are made possible by reader support on Patreon.

If you like All Timelines's reading orders/timelines and want exclusive reader rewards, your support on Patreon would be tremendously appreciated! Rewards include:

  • Patreon-only updates on what goes on behind the scenes and what's up and coming.
  • Priority reading order requests
  • Regular Q&A
  • A direct hand in growing All Timelines!
  • Promotions of your site, blog, or YouTube channel!
  • And more!

Any size contribution will help keep All Timelines alive and full of new geek culture guides and content. Support All Timelines on Patreon for exclusive rewards. Thank you for reading!