Dragonriders of Pern Reading Order

What’s in the Dragonriders of Pern Reading Order?

The Dragonriders of Pern reading order takes the series written primarily by Anne McCaffrey and places them in chronological order. Some of the books were co-written by Anne and other authors, including her son Todd McCaffrey. All of the main books and short stories are included in this timeline. One book, After the Fall is Over, was being written by Anne, but she died in 2011 and was unable to complete it. At this point, it’s unclear if her children will continue the series or not.

As with all of our timelines, don’t hestitate to let us know if there’s something else to add or correct on the list. We welcome all feedback.

1Before LandingBuyThe Survey: P.E.R.N.Short StoryAnne McCaffrey1993Collected in The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall
2First PassBuyDragonsdawnNovelAnne McCaffrey1988
3First PassBuyThe Dolphins' BellShort StoryAnne McCaffrey1993Collected in The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall
4First PassBuyThe Ford of Red HanrahanShort StoryAnne McCaffrey1993Collected in The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall
5First PassBuyThe Second WeyrShort StoryAnne McCaffrey1993Collected in The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall
6First PassBuyRescue RunShort StoryAnne McCaffrey1993Collected in The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall
7Second PassBuyRed Star Rising (Dragonseye)NovelAnne McCaffrey1996
8Second PassBuyEver the TwainShort StoryAnne McCaffrey2002Collected in A Gift of Dragons
9Third PassBuyDragon's KinNovelAnne & Todd McCaffrey2004
10Third PassBuyDragon's FireNovelAnne & Todd McCaffrey2006
11Third PassBuyDragon HarperNovelAnne & Todd McCaffrey2007
12Third PassBuyDragonheartNovelTodd McCaffrey2008
13Third PassBuyDragonsbloodNovelTodd McCaffrey2005
14Third PassBuyDragongirlNovelTodd McCaffrey2010
15Third PassBuyDragon's TimeNovelAnne & Todd McCaffrey2011
16Third PassBuySky DragonsNovelAnne & Todd McCaffrey2012
17Sixth PassBuyMoreta: Dragonlady of PernNovelAnne McCaffrey1983
18Sixth PassBuyNerilka's StoryNovelAnne McCaffrey1986
19Sixth PassBuyBeyond BetweenShort StoryAnne McCaffrey2003Collected in Legends II
20Ninth PassBuyThe Masterharper of PernNovelAnne McCaffrey1998
21Ninth PassBuyRunner of PernShort StoryAnne McCaffrey1998Collected in A Gift of Dragons
22Ninth PassBuyDragonflightNovelAnne McCaffrey1968First Novel
23Ninth PassBuyDragonquestNovelAnne McCaffrey1970
24Ninth PassBuyDragonsongNovelAnne McCaffrey1976
25Ninth PassBuyDragonsingerNovelAnne McCaffrey1977
26Ninth PassBuyDragondrumsNovelAnne McCaffrey1979
27Ninth PassBuyThe White DragonNovelAnne McCaffrey1978
28Ninth PassBuyThe ImpressionShort StoryAnne McCaffrey1989Collected in The Dragonlover's Guide to Pern
29Ninth PassBuyThe Smallest DragonboyShort StoryAnne McCaffrey1973Collected in A Gift of Dragons
30Ninth PassBuyThe Girl Who Heard DragonsShort StoryAnne McCaffrey1986Collected in A Gift of Dragons
31Ninth PassBuyThe Renegades of PernNovelAnne McCaffrey1989
32Ninth PassBuyAll the Weyrs of PernNovelAnne McCaffrey1991
33Ninth PassBuyThe Dolphins of PernNovelAnne McCaffrey1994
34Ninth PassBuyThe Skies of PernNovelAnne McCaffrey2001
35Ninth PassAfter the Fall is OverNovelN/AN/A

Support For All Timelines:

All Timelines’s lists, reading orders, and guides are made possible by reader support on Patreon.

If you like All Timelines's reading orders/timelines and want exclusive reader rewards, your support on Patreon would be tremendously appreciated! Rewards include:

  • Patreon-only updates on what goes on behind the scenes and what's up and coming.
  • Priority reading order requests
  • Regular Q&A
  • A direct hand in growing All Timelines!
  • Promotions of your site, blog, or YouTube channel!
  • And more!

Any size contribution will help keep All Timelines alive and full of new geek culture guides and content. Support All Timelines on Patreon for exclusive rewards. Thank you for reading!