Riyria Reading Order

What’s on the Riyria Reading Order?

This timeline includes all of the Riyria books by Michael J. Sullivan in chronological order. These books take place on the world of Elan, and includes all of the novels and short stories that take place on that world. This includes several series of books:

  • The Riyria Revelations books came first.
  • Riyria Chronicles followed but take place before the first series.
  • The First Empire books take place in the distant past and stand alone.

These three series provide the bulk of the Riyria books, but you will find several short stories as well.

Where do I start reading the Riyria books?

The Riyria books have too good places to start. First, the first books to be published (The Riyria Revelations series) is one good place. But the First Empire series, starting with Age of Myth, is another good place to start because it takes place so far in the past that it stands on its own.

If you find anything that we need to add, edit, or omit, please let us know. We love to hear any feedback you might have to make this timeline and this site better. We hope you enjoy this Riyria reading order!

1The First EmpireBuyAge of MythNovelMichael J. Sullivan2016
2The First EmpireAge of SwordsNovelMichael J. Sullivan2017
3The First EmpireAge of WarNovelMichael J. SullivanTBD
4The First EmpireAge of LegendsNovelMichael J. SullivanTBD
5The First EmpireAge of EmpireNovelMichael J. SullivanTBD
6Riyria ChroniclesBuyThe Crown TowerNovelMichael J. Sullivan2013
7Riyria ChroniclesBuyThe Viscount and the WitchShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2011
8Riyria ChroniclesBuyThe Rose and the ThornNovelMichael J. Sullivan2013
9Riyria ChroniclesBuyThe JesterShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2014
10Riyria ChroniclesBuyProfessional IntegrityShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2015
11Riyria ChroniclesBuyThe Death of DulgathNovelMichael J. Sullivan2015
12Riyria RevelationsTraditionsShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2013
13Riyria RevelationsBuyTheft of SwordsNovelMichael J. Sullivan2011Collects The Crown Conspiracy and Avempartha
14Riyria RevelationsBuyRise of EmpireNovelMichael J. Sullivan2011Collects Nyphron Rising and The Emerald Storm
15Riyria RevelationsBuyHeir of NovronNovelMichael J. Sullivan2012Collects Wintertide and Percepliquis

Support For All Timelines:

All Timelines’s lists, reading orders, and guides are made possible by reader support on Patreon.

If you like All Timelines's reading orders/timelines and want exclusive reader rewards, your support on Patreon would be tremendously appreciated! Rewards include:

  • Patreon-only updates on what goes on behind the scenes and what's up and coming.
  • Priority reading order requests
  • Regular Q&A
  • A direct hand in growing All Timelines!
  • Promotions of your site, blog, or YouTube channel!
  • And more!

Any size contribution will help keep All Timelines alive and full of new geek culture guides and content. Support All Timelines on Patreon for exclusive rewards. Thank you for reading!