art for wheel of time reading order

What’s on the Wheel of Time Reading Order?

The Wheel of Time reading order takes all of the books (and a few comics) and places them in chronological order. This list of books also includes the books written by Brandon Sanderson after the death of author Robert Jordan to finish the series. Currently, there doesn’t appear to be any plans on continuing with other series of books set in this world. So this timeline is as complete as it’s going to get for now. Though we have our fingers crossed for a movie or television series in the future that could change all of that.

And if you enjoyed this timeline, you might enjoy some of our others, including our Shannara series timeline. And be sure to let us know on our contact page if you see anything that needs to change.

Where to Start Reading the Wheel of Time

This is fairly easy to answer. While there is a prequel novel, you won’t find it very interesting unless you understand some of the main series. So we recommend you start with Eye of the World, the first book in the series. Once you’ve read the first six or so books, that would be a good time to read the prequel.

How to Use This Wheel of Time Timeline

For The Wheel of Time, you have the following features:

  1. A button that will show pictures for each item. See below.
  2. Titles that link to an expanded page for each item.
  3. Sorting by Title, Series, Media Type, Writer, and Release Date
  4. Filtering by Media Type or Writer.

Feel free to click on individual items to see more information! We hope you enjoy.
The Wheel of Time Timeline 2.0

15Wheel of TimeBuyLord of Chaos1994-10-15
14Wheel of TimeBuyThe Fires of Heaven1993-10-15
13Wheel of TimeBuyThe Shadow Rising1992-09-15
12Wheel of TimeBuyThe Dragon Reborn1991-10-15
11Wheel of TimeBuyThe Great Hunt1990-11-15
4Wheel of TimeBuyThe Eye of the World1990-01-15
2Wheel of TimeBuyNew Spring, , 2004-01-06
18Wheel of TimeBuyWinter’s Heart2000-11-07
3Wheel of TimeBuyNew Spring (The Graphic Novel)2011-01-18
24Wheel of TimeBuyRiver of Souls, 2013-06-21
23Wheel of TimeBuyA Memory of Light, 2013-01-08
22Wheel of TimeBuyTowers of Midnight, 2010-11-02
21Wheel of TimeBuyThe Gathering Storm, 2009-10-27
20Wheel of TimeBuyKnife of Dreams2005-10-11
19Wheel of TimeBuyCrossroads of Twilight2003-01-07
17Wheel of TimeBuyThe Path of Daggers1998-10-20
16Wheel of TimeBuyA Crown of Swords1996-05-15
10Wheel of TimeBuyThe Eye of the World, Vol. 62015-02-03
9Wheel of TimeBuyThe Eye of the World, Vol. 52014-07-08
8Wheel of TimeBuyThe Eye of the World, Vol. 42013-12-03
7Wheel of TimeBuyThe Eye of the World, Vol. 32013-01-29
6Wheel of TimeBuyThe Eye of the World, Vol. 22012-06-19
5Wheel of TimeBuyThe Eye of the World, Vol. 12011-09-13
1Wheel of TimeBuy“The Strike at Shayol Ghul”1997-11-06
The Wheel of Time Timeline 2.0