A Wrinkle in Time ranked sixth in our best science fiction book series

What’s on the A Wrinkle in Time Reading Order?

Although Madeleine L’Engle has a large cast of recurring characters that intersect in some of her other works, the Wrinkle in Time series is mostly self-contained. You will find other works that are mostly unrelated and we don’t include them on this timeline.

Her two main series are the Kairos and the Cronos series. The Kairos series includes A Wrinkle in Time and the other books that involve those characters and their children. The Cronos series gives us another set of characters. The Cronos series stands on its own, though some characters from each series appear in other books, so they definitely exist in the same universe.

Where to Start Reading?

Most would say the first book is the best place to start. A Wrinkle in Time is a classic. However, the Chronos series stands on its own. So that may be another good starting point. At least it isn’t burdened by the necessity of foreknowledge. Additionally, if you like this timeline, you might like some of our others like the Solar Cycle timeline. As usual, be sure to let us know if there’s something we missed or could improve. Thank you, and we hope you enjoy!

1First Generation/Time QuintetBuyA Wrinkle in TimeNovelMadeleine L’Engle1962
2First Generation/Time QuintetBuyA Wind in the DoorNovelMadeleine L’Engle1973
3First Generation/Time QuintetBuyA Swiftly Tilting PlanetNovelMadeleine L’Engle1978
4First Generation/Time QuintetBuyMany WatersNovelMadeleine L’Engle1986
5Second GenerationBuyThe Arm of the StarfishNovelMadeleine L’Engle1965
6Second GenerationBuyDragons in the WatersNovelMadeleine L’Engle1976
7Second GenerationBuyA House Like a LotusNovelMadeleine L’Engle1984
8Second GenerationBuyAn Acceptable TimeNovelMadeleine L’Engle1989
9ChronosBuyThe Twenty-four Days Before ChristmasNovelMadeleine L’Engle1984Seperate series, but some characters crossover.
10ChronosBuyA Full House: An Austin Family ChristmasNovelMadeleine L’Engle1999
11ChronosBuyMeet the AustinsNovelMadeleine L’Engle1960
12ChronosBuyThe Moon by NightNovelMadeleine L’Engle1963
13ChronosBuyThe Young UnicornsNovelMadeleine L’Engle1968
14ChronosBuyA Ring of Endless LightNovelMadeleine L’Engle1980
15ChronosBuyThe Anti-MuffinsNovelMadeleine L’Engle1980
16ChronosBuyTroubling a StarNovelMadeleine L’Engle1994

Let us know your thoughts!

Support For All Timelines:

All Timelines’s lists, reading orders, and guides are made possible by reader support on Patreon.

If you like All Timelines's reading orders/timelines and want exclusive reader rewards, your support on Patreon would be tremendously appreciated! Rewards include:

  • Patreon-only updates on what goes on behind the scenes and what's up and coming.
  • Priority reading order requests
  • Regular Q&A
  • A direct hand in growing All Timelines!
  • Promotions of your site, blog, or YouTube channel!
  • And more!

Any size contribution will help keep All Timelines alive and full of new geek culture guides and content. Support All Timelines on Patreon for exclusive rewards. Thank you for reading!